Facebook has introduced new privacy settings aimed at making it easier for users to have more control over their personal information and what they share.
A new control now makes it easy to share on Facebook with friends, and friends of friends or everyone in one click. The settings are immediately applied and displayed in a grid. Users will be able to customize their settings to control their level of sharing. The settings will now appear on a single page.
Users will be able to completely turn off Facebook Platform applications and websites, which means information will not be shared with applications. Facebook has made it easier to turn off instant personalization applications by unchecking the box "Enable instant personalization."
Users who choose the "Friends Only" option for "Sharing on Facebook," will be able to apply that privacy setting to new products as well.
Connections to Pages, which were previously available to everyone, will have privacy settings that work for both ends of the connection. People can prevent others from seeing Pages on their profile and from seeing them in the "People who like this" boxes on the Pages themselves. Applications will also need to ask for permission in order to access any of your Pages that are not visible to everyone.
In a blog post, Facebook CEO, Mark Zuckerberg wrote," I am pleased to say that with these changes the overhaul of Facebook’s privacy model is complete. If you find these changes helpful, then we plan to keep this privacy framework for a long time. That means you won’t need to worry about changes. (Believe me, we’re probably happier about this than you are.)"
Facebook said it will be rolling out the new privacy changes to users over the next couple of weeks.